Skip to content

Library Resources

The Town of Yarmouth has an opportunity to apply for a grant to modernize our library system. Please take

our online community survey and tell us what you want and need for Yarmouth public library services.  Thank you. 

Tell us what you need and what you want in a library and in library services. Take the SURVEY!

The Library Planning Committee meets regularly and you can attend our meetings to provide your input.

Write to us in care of the Library:

Yarmouth Library Planning Committee, c/o South Yarmouth Library, 312 Old Main Street, South Yarmouth, MA  02664

Or call: Library Director Jane Cain, at (508) 760-4820

Or email:

 Library Planning      Committee          

Building on the research and recommendations of the Library Study ad hoc Committee, as presented to the Yarmouth Finance Committee and to the Select Board in 2018, the Planning Committee provides advisory support and makes recommendations on the planning required to improve library services and facilities for the Town of Yarmouth. Click HERE for LPC meeting minutes and agendae.

LPC Members (2023):

Mary Reardon Johnson,

Acting Chair

Regina Hopkins,


Liz Argo,

George Bovino,

Deirdre Gaquin,

Patricia McCullough,

Jane Cain,

Library Director, ex officio



Community Library Survey Launched ~

On October 23, 2023, the Town of Yarmouth launched a five-month long Community Library Needs Assessment starting with the circulation of a survey produced by the consulting firm, Constructive Disruption, in consultation with the Yarmouth Library Planning Committee. The survey is the first step in assessing the Yarmouth community’s needs and vision for modern public library services and facilities. The assessment is part of the preparation for making application to the state for a grant to improve Yarmouth’s library services. 

Additional assessment through interviews, focus groups, and open town halls for the public to share opinions, will be conducted over the winter of 2023.

“I’m excited that through this process the Yarmouth community will tell us what they want and need, as together we seek to strengthen and improve the Yarmouth public library services”, said Town Administrator, Robert Whritenour.